Are there any BALANCED teens out there?

Two weeks ago, the grade nine and ten students self reflected on our Responsible Use Policy with their homeroom teachers as a way for them to be reminded of our expectations.

The two area that were mixed or didn’t lean more towards the positive side were BALANCED and CARING.

FullSizeRender (8) FullSizeRender (7)

So, this is where LizD and I stepped in to start developing lessons and activities to help the students become more balanced and caring.

For our first sessions, we will focus on BALANCE. We are lucky at CA to have an hour BLOCK time on Fridays that we get to steal a few of throughout the year to develop ATL (Approaches to Learning/Digital Citizenship) skills.

We have created a session with multiple activities to stimulate student thinking to reflect on their lives but also to take some action.

Fortunately, today, I also just watched the Digital Nutrition TedxTalk by Jocelyn Brewer. Which got me thinking…  that the audit that I want the students to do is pretty shallow. What if they are doing great things with their long hours on their computers at night? Of course they are, but they are also probably doing a lot of mindless things as well.

So, I’d like to develop another follow up to this activity delving a little deeper about their online use. I’ll never get them to cut back on their laptops, maybe a little, but their generation is different from my own and I am online a lot.

I find it hard when I cannot deliver all the digital citizenship lessons myself, but due to my schedule and reaching all the kids in a timely manner, it isn’t always possible. I know the homeroom teachers did a great job with this lesson, as BALANCE is something I think everyone has to reflect on and work hard to maintain.  Now, I need to wait to hear how the sessions went.  I’m curious as to how the students reflected and what actions they’ll take to become more BALANCED.

Leave a Reply

